» K38 Forum Menu

Go Back   K38 LLC » K38 Information Forum » Welcome Aboard K38!

Old 07-19-2012, 02:23 PM

Post How do you have your RWC and PPE set up?

My name is Marty and I am new to the K38 forum. Our Fire Department water rescue team is still in its infancy and therefore we struggle with equipment along with training. I am open to any constructive critisism and recommendations.

We operate on Lake Michigan which has the ability to have conditions change rapidly. We run 2 Yamaha FX 140s with Extractor boards. We have the basic safety equipment for audible & visual distress, compass, radio communications with lifeguards and Coast Guard, rescue tube, throw rope, spare PFD, and dive knife.

PPE typically consists of: Helmet, Coast Guard approved PFD, fins, mask. I have seen pictures of Shawn's set up and will try to replicate that. I carry a whistle on my vest, but I am the only one at this time (that will change in the near future).

Feel free to contact me via e-mail or phone: rafacz13@yahoo.com or 708-516-6614
I would love to see pictures or get suggestions. Evanston, IL is the first city north of Chicago, home to Northwestern University.

Thanks for any recommendations.

Last edited by rafacz13; 07-24-2012 at 01:31 AM.
Old 07-19-2012, 05:44 PM
RWCA Admiral

Hello Marty!

I have posted a link to your question at the RWCSIA group facebook page hoping someone would give you some of thier ideas.

http://www.facebook.com/groups/RWCSIA/?ref=ts